Hello!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by keith105, Oct 22, 2009.

1. keith105

keith105 New Member

Hi there,

Firstly thanks for providing such a great forum / community, only been browsing for few days now and already learned quite a bit. This type of UK IT forum is something that I've been searching after for ages now. I was hoping to get some advice or where exactly I can start out on getting IT experience (the old chicken and egg philosophy springs to mind). Firstly, some quick info on me....

I did a BTEC Nat Diploma for IT Practitioners 2 years ago and passed with a high grade. As I was interested in networking and want to pursue a career in this, I chose to go to university as an Honours degree is also something which I desired. I'm in my 2nd year of a Bsc (Hons) Internet Communications & Networks degree. Some modules on the course follow the Cisco Networking Academy curriculum so the benefit here is once I'm finished with uni I should be able to take the CCNA exam(s) and receive that certification quickly.

The issue I'm having is that I realise that "experience is king" and that no employer will take you without some - so where exactly do I go to get started? I'm 25, have only worked in retail / customer service previously (so no formal IT work experience). I know I'll probably have to start low, but where should I be looking to even get a Level 1 technical support job? I'm currently living in Manchester and am hoping to gain some experience here part-time while I do my degree, even voluntary would be great, but I'm so far finding nothing. I'll be moving back to NI once I graduate.