Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by MickeyT, May 9, 2009.

1. MickeyT

MickeyT New Member

Hi - I'm toying with doing MCPD qualification and I'm looking for some guidance on its content. Thanks in advance for all the help!

2. MickeyT

MickeyT New Member

The reason I joined this forum is to try and help me decide whether to part with thousands of pounds to do the MCPD course. I have spoken to the course tutor and know a little about what the different exams contain but I'm nervous that I'll pay the money and then find its too difficult.

I've done one degree and one professional qualification (I'm a chartered accountant) so I'm not daft, but I've never done programming properly. I have done some programming in Excel visual basic for a couple of years and have built various models to help in my work. I've started reading a beginners book on Visual C#.Net and have found it similar to VB up to now in terms of how it flows (although object orientated programming is fairly new to me).

However, I know from speaking to the course tutor that databases, SQL, XML, ASP.Net, ADO.Net etc etc are covered, and I'm concerned that you have to be a genius to get it all. I don't want to spend thousands and find I can't do it.

So can anyone put the level of difficulty into context? Can anyone from any background do it (provided they study and persevere of course), or do you have to be at a certain level of intelligence to be able to grasp it?

Any guidance will be much appreciated as I'm driving myself mad wondering what's best to do.

Thanks!

3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

C# and VB .Net are not the most technical languages out there, they are general purpose languages designed for mere mortals to be productive. You do not have to be a genius to learn them, average intellect is fine, if you can understand UK tax law I'm sure you can learn to program !