Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by aidman, Sep 17, 2006.

1. aidman

aidman New Member

Hello,

I currently work in the IT industry, however I don't have any formal IT qualifications besides my degree and HND. I'm starting my quest to become CCNA => CCNP certified and also start myself the MCSE.

I've enrolled on a CCNA course and hope to excel. I do use cisco kit at work, however I've never really done more than the basics...

You'll probably be seeing quite a bit of me in the cisco forums.

Aidman :D

Certifications: Bsc(Hons), HND
    WIP: MCSE
  2. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Welcome Aidman to CF:biggrin

That's a good course to start, although I can't help wondering why you've skipped Comptia A+ and N+?
    :blink
    What are your reasons for doing Cisco?

Because you love the job or because you've heard the pays good?

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  3. aidman

aidman New Member

Would you suggest getting the A+, N+? Where can they be done, as I'd rather not pay to do a course when I could probably doddle the exam...

The reason I've dived into cisco is because I've been left with a cisco network which i only know the basics of how to manage. I'm being funded through my CCNA, CCNP and at each stage will get a payrise... The end goal is to eventually restructure, secure and improve the network I'm currently maintaining.

If I'm honest, I guess I do love the job :oops:

Aidman :D

4. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

Excellent good to hear your in it for the job and not the money!

Sorry if i came over a bit strong, just so many people get into IT for the wrong reasons!

Good luck with your studies!:thumbleft

5. aidman

aidman New Member

thats alright - Is there a benefit to doing the A+, N+? I've taken a look at the comptia website and it looks like my local college is a test centre...