Hello to one and all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Atomic, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Atomic

Atomic New Member

Hi,

Thought it was about time I introduced myself as I have been lurking here for well over a year now and first off would like to say a big thankyou to all the members as I have learned a great deal from this forum.

Now I've procrastinated too long about getting myself certified and have enroled on 2 courses at the local college, 1 for Cisco network fundamentals (they didn't have an N+ :rolleyes:) and also 1 called Cisco IT fundamentals or something( they advertised this as the A+:blink) which I have found is ment to be easier than the A+ as they say additional study will be needed for the A+ exam, However luckily I can do my A+ exams at the college for an extra fee, Now I have been studying on and off (more off lol) for my A+ for about 5 months, However I do find keeping a momentum with my study to be a problem, 1 day not studing turns into a week which can turn into well how longs a bit of string, So hopefully the college course will keep me on track.

Now a bit about me, I'm a 34 yr old guy that has in the last 3 and 1/2 years rediscovered my love for computing, I have played with different flavours of linux and of course I use windows (reluctantly)
    I have a history of schizophrenia and have not worked full time for the past four years, My only work in an office was about 8 years ago when I worked as a customer services employer in a call centre for Vodaphone,
    I would like to add that my medical condition is now stable with the drugs that I take for it and my reason for telling you guys here about it is I am wondering if I'm anyway employable in the I.T industry, also should I come clean about my condition to employers or keep schtum, After all my condition is now like asthma or diabetes, Horrible even life threatening left unchecked but controlled with medication makes me no different to anyone else,