Hello Peeps

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by coolkaka, May 25, 2010.

1. coolkaka

coolkaka New Member

Hello ALL
    Let me introduce myself.
    I’m 28 and from brummie land (Birmingham) in the UK and a MASSIVE Aston villa FAN! :D:
    I have been working in the IT field for the last 5 years since graduating with a computer science with software engineering degree. Currently I’m a 2nd line remote analyst, looking to move into a more practical role that instead over the phone.

I have got experience in following technologies:
    AD, EXCHANGE, XP, WINDOWS 7, MS OFFICE, VISTA, Windows Server, Citirix,

This is where you guys come in....
    :biggrin:biggrin:biggrin:biggrin

I have applied for a number of jobs in a desktop role capacity , and I have always came close or near against a candidate who had a wider exposure to me/experience or has got the necessary certification.
    So I have decided to get some for a certification under my belt.

Question is which one do I want to go for?
    Do I choose a MCP, if yes which ones, as there are loads, xp, vista, windows 7, etc etc
    Do I complete a MCDST?
    Do I complete a A+ and N+?

My dream job would be a desktop role with a bit of networking involved.

Your input will be very gratefull. (short cirucit) for the older members. :):)

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

What you do is get the MCDST and start from there, you already have the experience needed to pass the MCDST so I would go with that, if you wanted to make your CV more appealing then you could also go for the two Comptia exams as well (and maybe even the Sec+) but for the most part I would say that the MCDST is what you should be concentrating on initially.

If you wanted a client exam then either 70-620 or 70-680, it depends on which OS you're more comfortable and likely to be supporting.