Hello..my name is

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Brizzad, Mar 23, 2006.

1. Brizzad

Brizzad New Member

..Brad. I am a support analyst/LAN Admin. I have been working in the field of IT for about 7 years mainly doing support stuff.

I have a pretty through knowledge of PC hardware, basic network, and OS operation. I have an associate’s degree in network technology. I went through the Cisco Network Academy back in 2000 but have had virtually no experience with it since. I never took the test. I also took an A+ course back at the same time but did not test either. I was complacent when I got my new job after school but have discovered that I am not going to move up in pay grade until I get certified.

I am looking into advancing my pay with certifications in Cisco and others. I ultimately would like to pursue a career as a network admin/system admin.

Any advice would be appreciated.

I am a yank and I am so glad I found this forum across the pond.

:D

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Welcome to CF! Looks like you the opposite to the rest of us! PLENTY of experience and no certs! Good luck with them thou! What you looking at doing first?

BTW 'sell' me two years experience for my MCP please? :tongue

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Brizzad

Brizzad New Member

II have always enjoyed the WAN networking stuff. I love routers, switches, proxys, firewalls, etc. and would love designing and maintaining networks. I don’t have a bunch of knowledge in it but I am beginning to fool around with Linux (ubuntu to be exact). I enjoy that OS. I have always gotten a much better grasp on systems administration rather than software development.