Hello Folks

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by The Gamekeeper, Sep 9, 2008.

1. The Gamekeeper

The Gamekeeper New Member

Hi Everyone,

found this forum by chance while searching for training providers, luckily before I decided on the cerco route!!

Thankfully I've had a closer look & now looking at using Harbrook training & consultancy to gain CCNA etc.

I'm a qualified mechanic but have knackered my back, luckily my previous employer is paying for the retraining.

So the big question is - "Is Cisco the correct choice?" I'm not looking for a super mega paying job, that would be nice though, I just want something to tide me over - comfortably:biggrin

I'll try to contribute but probably be asking a lot of questions first.

All the best

Dave

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Yes, but not at this stage in your career. Even with a Cisco certification, companies won't hire you to administer a network with Cisco routers without experience. If you're like most people who start out in IT, you'll probably start out at the bottom, then work your way up: help desk/level 1 tech/PC repair > desktop admin > server admin > THEN network administration.

I'd recommend that you start out with the A+, Network+, and MCDST. But don't wait until you're certified - start looking for your first IT job now. When you get a certification, add it to your CV and keep looking (and studying for the next). Once you've gotten a job and a bit of experience, you can start planning for other certifications.

You don't need a training provider... you can get certified through self-study. I have yet to take a training course, and I've managed to collect a hundred letters after my name. :)

Welcome to the forums! Are you a gamer? Console, PC, board, card, other?