Hello everyone

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by tallpaul, Sep 24, 2007.

1. tallpaul

tallpaul Bit Poster

Hi everybody.
    i have recently decided to change careers (to do something i might actually enjoy)and could use some advice.
    i have been using & tinkering with PC's since my early twenties (i'm 35) and from all the reading ive been doing lately, it looks like i would find a career in IT both interesting and enjoyable.Even though i have never worked in this area before(I am an electrician).
    I am thinking about home studying for the A+ ,whilst keeping my ear to the ground for bottom-rung/entry-level positions of any type.

My question is this- I know that certs are no substitute for hands-on workplace experience , but just how far could I/should I go down the home study route?
    I would be able to give it my fulltime attention so hopefully progress should be fairly brisk; but I have been looking around and have seen very little in the way of entry level vacancies of any sort;which is making me a bit down-hearted.
    are they that hard to come by?
    i dont want to be sitting around at home with a bunch of qualifications in 3 years or so,because no-one will take me on with zilch experience!
    Would my age be a factor if someone was considering me for a Trainee/entry-level position?
    sorry for being long-winded, but any advice would be appreciated!

Certifications: Nothing spoddy,all electrickery so far
    WIP: a+
  2. ajs1976

ajs1976 Byte Poster

Most entry level jobs are either PC Tech or Helpdesk Support. The A+ would be a good start for both. Net+ is a good follow up for to the A+ because it introduces networking. The MCDST would also be good because it focuses on Windows XP and user support.