Hello everyone

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Ozzie, Apr 23, 2007.

1. Ozzie

Ozzie Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I've never worked in IT before so I'm studying the A+ cert. I don't know if the A+ alone will get me a job, so I plan to do Network+, and Linux+ after.

I start college today, but from some of the posts I've read here, I might as well spend the money on books instead.
    My thoughts are, yes I could buy a book with the same content as a college course, but on the otherhand, if I'm around like minded people I could accelerate my learning.

It would be good to hears some of your comments.

Thanks.

WIP: CompTIA A+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Welcome to CF, glad you joined.

A+ (or really any cert) won't soley get you a job, however they will assist you in getting the job. I know several people who got IT jobs without any professional certs, and at the same time I know plenty of people who got job after they got qualfied.

I know it sounds strange, but hang in there, professional certs will only give you a boost :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  4. Ozzie

Ozzie Nibble Poster

Thanks for the encouragement wagnerk :D

5. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Welcome on board the CF forum and if your hard working you can get a job in IT with time. Cheerio and stay focused as the A+ is a good starting point:D

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  6. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster