hello everyone at certforums

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by myfunkieststrole, Apr 13, 2007.

1. myfunkieststrole

myfunkieststrole New Member

im a graduate from bradford west yorks...in fine art of all things lol. no comment.
    ive decided want to have a career in IT but im not really sure where to start,
    hence being here to pick all your brains!

I think ill go for the a+ and network + exams. ive trawled through several home learning companies but they all seem a bit iffy. the only exception ive found so far being advent who actually seemed ok, but cant find anything good or bad about them, any advice would be very much appreciated, as would any comments on advent if anyone has had any experience with them.

a career development loan seems like an easy way to get trained, and then pay it back at a later date, but does seem a bit risky. ie if your not earning by then hand get the banks chasing you!!! but on the other hand you can get the training now, instead of saving up and self learning.

i dont mean to fill my introduction with lots of questions, this is really just a quick intro to say hello to everyone and roughly outline where i am and what im doing :biggrin

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: having a go at programming C++
  2. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Graduate in fine arts, i thought you would be looking at Macs then, they are much prettier :)

Im with Advent and they are fine, but ive never had any responses from them with job offers. You could always go with the self study route if you feel comfortable doing that. Heres a link to the self study guide http://www.certforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11831

Oh, and welcome to CF!:)

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  3. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Greetings & Welcome to CF:biggrin

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  4. myfunkieststrole