Hello everybody

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by gammi0025, Mar 7, 2012.

1. gammi0025

gammi0025 New Member

ok long time viewer first time poster,
    Be gentle I lost my job last April 2011 through my own stupid fault ( caught stealing yeah I know complete idiot I know) but I know have a Police caution, and won't get a reference from my last employer (which is quite understandable).
    As you may have guessed I am now really struggling to find any work in IT. I have 10 years experience in IT support networking and hardware.
    I don't have any IT cert's yet but I am studying for the MCITP in server 2008 R2.
    I get regular phone calls from agency's saying my CV is very good but as soon as mentipon the reason I left my last job i get “ok I’ll just check that with my teamleader, client “ and then never hear any thing again?
    Surely I can get a second chance to prove I am a good employee? My Appraisels from my last employer were excellent and I even got regular pay rises?

Any body any idea’s or advice please ? Also would a MCITP make my cv more creditable and maybe out balance my dubious past ?? anyone

2. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Gammi, the best advice I can give is to keep on trying. Anyone is going to ask why you left your last employer but some people will still offer you the chance.

A MCITP might help, but if you're already getting calls confirming your CV is good - having another 6 words on it won't make a difference.

There is a good reason you shouldn't burn your bridges when leaving previous jobs - references definitely confirm your skills and more importantly, work ethic.

Good luck.

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  3. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Welcome & good luck.
    NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  4. gammi0025

gammi0025 New Member