1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello-complete newbie here

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by craigthomas75, Jun 16, 2005.

1. craigthomas75

craigthomas75 New Member

Hi,

I too have stumbled across this site today while looking for info on the net regarding courses etc.
    I am completely new to all this and am looking at working towards a career in I.T.
    This sector appears to be a minefield on information and I am not quite sure where I should be starting.
    I have all basic office skills (word, outlook, I.E etc) but nothing on the actual system side.
    I am thinking of enrolling on an A+ and Network+ course-is this a good starting point for me please and can anyone recommend any particular training providers etc.
    I am based in South Wales though can travel if need be,
    Any help would be much appreciated.

2. Sarah

Sarah Byte Poster

Hi there,

The A+ is a good place to start!! I would reccomend having a look initially at the CompTIA website - this will give you plently of information regarding training, testing and the options for you.

http://www.comptia.org

What direction are you looking to go into when you have done certification?

Self study and classroom based training are both good options for the A+.

Sarah

3. craigthomas75

craigthomas75 New Member

Sarah-I am unsure what direction to go into after completing the course but instead I have initially thought if I prefer any specific module then I could go with that and further it by doing a specific course.
    On the other hand if all goes well then I think that MCSE is a possibility-as long as I get to grips with it that is.
    Thanks for info.

4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster