Hello and advice please

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by sparkie1979, Mar 25, 2008.

1. sparkie1979

sparkie1979 New Member

Hi Everyone,

Just wanted to say Hi and try and pick your brains.

I am looking at getting (back) into programming so I asked computeach to come and visit me last night and was a bit shocked at the cost of the training and therefore decided to do some further research and found this wonderful forum where it seems to be of the opinion that self learning is the best (and obviously the cheapest) method as long as I am willing to put the effort in.

The problem that I have is that I do have some experience in programming but no proof of it - At uni (I have a degree in electrical and electronic engineering, which included some programming courses) I learnt some c++ and found that I could quite easily understand the programming (got a 74% for the final year C++ course) also for my placement year I worked for siemens and developed a website and also did some standalone (i.e. non web based) PERL programming both of these were self taught. However when I left uni I did not follow the programming route, I have gone more into hardware and now work as a product development engineer for a consumer electronics company, I now realise 5 years after leaving uni that this is not the correct route for me and would like to start the programming again.

Computeach suggested that I follow the C# MCAD route, which I liked the sound of but wanted to check with you guys if this was a good course to follow?

Also, looking at the job market, every company requires experience, as I mentioned above I do have experience but not in a commercial market. Do you think that this is enough to get a job as a software developer or are there any other things that I can do in addition to the MCAD (or other similar cert)to benifit/improve my chance of getting employment.

Thanks in advance for your time in answering my query

Mark

2. Kitkatninja