Hello all!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by wilbishardis, May 19, 2009.

1. wilbishardis

wilbishardis New Member

Hi everybody, here's my intro, thanks for reading!

I have recently decided to study for the A+ and Network+ certifications to get myself an entry-level IT job.

I've just got back from nearly a year's worth of travelling and was hoping to get a career started in publishing (I've got a degree in Media Comms). Unfortunately there's not much out there for people with no experience at the minute (I worked in a factory to save for the travelling!), and seeing as I have a big interest in IT and some basic knowledge from fixing mate's PCs while at school/6th Form, I thought it would be a good way to get my foot on a ladder (even though it's not degree-related).

After doing some research and spending a while on these forums; it seems like it's a good idea to get Mike Meyer's A+ book as a starting point - it seems a lot of people think that self-study is better than distance learning (which is great because I'm skint). I'd like to think that I'm fairly intelligent (!) and could sort out a study program using the MM book for the material, saving myself £400 in distance learning fees. Do you reckon that's realistic?

So, any pointers would be greatly appreciated, thank you very much in advance.

2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF:D

I used the MM AIO book to self-study the A+ - so what you are proposing to do is achievable.

Also, I'd recommend getting the PC Technician Street Smarts book by James Pyles and a cheap pc for you to tinker with.

Anyway, good luck with the studies and if you get stuck you can ask for help/advice on here.

Cheers

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  3. Mof

Mof Megabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to CF