Hello all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by jonfromdundonald, May 16, 2009.

1. jonfromdundonald

jonfromdundonald New Member

Hi everyone. Just wanted to say a quick hello to everyone on the forum's. I am studying to be a PC tech. At the minute i am doing my A+ essentials course. Then i will be doing the A+ N+ and then the MCSA exam. I'm hoping if i need any help or advice then i can get it on this great forum. jon

WIP: A+ N+ MCSA
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi Jon and welcome to the forums.

If your goal is to be a PC tech, then the A+.. N+ are perfect. However, the MCSA is probably a tad over the top for the moment. You might want to consider the MCDST path instead, as these are all entry level certifications and will stand you in good stead as far as prospective employment is concerned. Also, they will act as a good foundation for the MCSA once you have a year or more experience, in a commercial environment under your belt.

Doing advanced certifications without the relative experience can harm your prospects of finding an entry level position and will not help you jump up the IT ladder. Employers look for experience + certifications or just experience alone can advance you up the ladder. Higher level certs, such as the MCSA/E on their own count for zilch.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome Jon