Hang in there!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by moisea, Feb 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moisea

moisea New Member

Hi, i am an IT Graduate in (comb. hons) comp. sc. and internet technologies and really don't know what i can do to get an IT job. sent more than a thousand application to agencies and companies got about less than a dozen of interviews which i though i nailed the job but nothing. when to see a professional cv writer who told me mine was fine and he conducted a sample interview after which he told me he could not find any reason why i could not get a job. i went to a point i stop applying as it was so depressing not getting interviews let alone getting answer from employers or agencies and starting working for a major supermarket.
    i decided this was not for me starting to study for the mcdst and mcse on my own i am hoping to get mcdst certified next next month and already know a lot about the mcse. Frustrated but not giving up! no way....

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Welcome

You need to keep trying and not stop like I did.

Can I mention though that you shouldn't go for the MCSE as you have no experience. Microsoft recommend that you have 12-18 months experiences and a systems engineer.

Having high level certs without the experience could make yor job search harder because employers will expect you to hit the ground running with little or no training apart from this is where our servers are and this is your desk.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

What kind of roles are you applying for? Telling us you have applied for a thousand roles is great but it could be that those roles are for Team Leader, IT Director roles (you get the idea).