guidance to become a network engineer

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by shaheen, Jun 3, 2011.

1. shaheen

shaheen New Member

Hello,

I am a graduate in computing & information system, looking to build a career in Computer Networking. I live in Wallington, surrey. Can anyone suggest what appraoch I should take to acheive my goal.

I am considering to complete CCNA. not sure where I can study in Croydon, southeast london or surrounding areas in Surrey.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks
    Shaheen

2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

Unfortunately you fall into the boat of many others - no experience

Becoming a network engineer is no easy feat - you'll need to start out at the bottom, gain experience in 1st/2nd line roles, gradually moving into a more networked based enviornment.

I'd recommend:

Study for A+ and N+
    Look for entry level IT work, once landing a job, stick at it for around 2 years to gain that experience, whilst studying for a CCENT.

Then you can look to get a junior network technician role, then study for something like CCNA - if you're able to work with cisco kit, or get a lab setup at home and self study

Highly recommend self study over schools - you'll save yourself loads of money this way.

To walk straight out of uni and into a network engineer role is not going to happen i'm afraid - it takes alot of years, and alot of experience to get something like this, and there'll be people competing with you for these jobs.

Don't mean to make it sound like a complete downer, but unfortunately thats the way IT is atm!

Either way, best of luck :)

Certifications: 70-243 MCTS: ConfigMgr 2012 | MCSE: Private Cloud
    BraderzTheDog likes this.
  3. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

Skip A+ and N+ if you are doing certs to help you get a job and take a look at a cert like MS 70-680.

Certifications: A few.
  4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster