Guess who's going to be a trainer?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by tripwire45, Jan 9, 2008.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I had a chat with my manager today and he wants to expand my role here at work (he's always wanted to but now seems to be a good time since I've been around over 2 months and have gotten my feet wet).

One of the roles would be to create and provide training for our new product to tech support, sales engineers, and so forth. My predecessor left a few books behind that I could use for resources but I wanted to get opinions from the folks here. The books I have immediate access to are:

Turning Training into Learning

Developing Training Courses

I haven't actually cracked the covers yet because I've been doing some of the other projects I've been tasked with. I'm not a trainer by trade so I'm sure I can use all of the advice and suggestions you have to offer. Thanks in advance.

-Trip

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I can't offer any advice in that department, but I can offer my congratulations it sounds like things a going well for you.

Good luck.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. fortch

fortch Kilobyte Poster

As a former automotive trainer for GM, I always thought you were a shoe-in for this kind of thing, Trip. You have an ability to bridge the gap between technical jargon and laymen's terms, a credit to any technical writer. One thing, though -- as a former technician as well, I was intimately knowledgeable about what the average techs knew, and what they needed to learn. That, in itself, allowed me to write my own curriculum based loosely around what they wanted me to teach them. In short: Know your audience.