Greetings

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Tegal, Mar 15, 2006.

1. Tegal

Tegal Bit Poster

Greetings CF community. I was been nosing around before I signed up and was impressed with what I saw - specially the 'Just for fun' room - can't go far wrong with people who don't take themselves too seriously. Can't wait for the next entry in the 'Once upon a time ... 2005' post :D

I work as a Media Producer for a small charity in the UK. Means I get to play with expensive equipment and look cool. However I'm also the Network Administrator - on the basis that I have more experience than anyone else here (funny how NA's don't seem to have the same coolness as media bods, yet are possibly more important ..?) Soooooo, in the long term I want to get into IT and am looking to the MCSA/E.

Gotta ask for input here. I can keep our setup (system is Win2k3 server & exchange, Win2k server & SQL, the SQL bit of which my knowledge can be measured in very small steps) ticking over, adding new users/computers, installing, re-building, etc, but if anything major were to happen to our win2k3 server we'd have to outsource.

I found several companies that provide self-learning programmes, but want to hear from anyone who's gone down that route - pro's & conns. I can outline the best deal I've found if anyone's interested. And practically speaking, that is in terms of jobs, what difference is there between the MCSA & E?

So, reckon I'm gonna be asking training related questions to begin with, but if any of youse has media Q's - I'm your man.

Here's mud in your eye ...
    Tegal

Certifications: BEng, MCP
    WIP: MCSA
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, Tegal. Welcome to CertForums. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster