Greetings. CCNA study material question!

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by laimtoh, Jul 1, 2006.

1. laimtoh

laimtoh New Member

Hi all,

I'm currently working as a system administrator at a small company with limited network infrastructure, but learning along the way about network admin. Been there for 2.5 yrs now.

I look after the network on a day to day basis, managed switches and routers to a limited extent, we have some Cisco 1750's which manage VOIP and data separately, but I haven't been into those as they were setup by our provider and I haven't seen the Cisco interface before. I also install any new network points, including wireless in some cases which I have some experience of.

We have draytek ADSL modem routers at all 3 sites and a netscreen for the VPN management at the main site, which I'm more familiar with.

So there's a bit of hardware there which I could learn a bit on when I get more learning done. That's my intro over :oops:

I want to begin learning material towards CCNA cert, and was wondering what the best first steps would be? I'm interested to know what reading materials are useful and web resourses, as I don't want to go through the provided training route as I, ahem, learn at my own speed :oops: (I may be some time... :) )

Are the Sybex books the best for entry level learning for CCNA? I did take a look at them, but they didn't seem to have a book for the latest version of the CCNA exam. There seem to be so many books out there covering CCNA!