Great Forums

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by M3ntal, Mar 22, 2006.

1. M3ntal

M3ntal New Member

Hello all, I found your forums whilst searching Google for MCAD info. After trawling through copious amounts of marketing dribble from various training organisations I found it refreshing to find a more objective place with opinions i feel i can trust a little better ;).

Background:
    I'm 24 years old, and currently work as the sole programmer in a new company that deals in web-generated data management. I graduated with a degree (BSc) in "Software Development with Artificial Intelligence" last year, and have been working for my current employer since September. My work is mainly non-Microsoft web based (PHP/MySQL/JavaScript/etc), and my degree was mainly Java based with appearances from C++/Scheme/Prolog/the aforementioned web technologies/a few others. Non Microsoft. The computers we used for the course were even Unix based.

Now; both morally and historically I myself am quite anti-Microsoft so my ignorance of them hasn't really bothered me, but my opinion of at least their technologies has risen since they stole Borland's lead programmers and paid them to copy J2EE and make Visual Studio languages worth using {morality--}.

Anyway, I recently suggested to my boss that we would be better off running our internal systems (invoicing, data management, etc) on a local Win2k3 server, ie *internally*, rather than running them all on a website on some remote webspace somewhere (the guy who preceeded me was an absolute muppet - square peg: round hole). So here I am, wanting to aquire .NET skills so I can develop some Windows-based round pegs for those round holes :).

P.S: Heh, copy-before-submit just saved me from login-timeout-deletion.

WIP: MCAD/MCSD
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, M3ntal. Welcome to CertForums. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. jackd

jackd Megabyte Poster