Got certification but no jobs!!!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by abhi2002_sen, Jul 4, 2008.

1. abhi2002_sen

abhi2002_sen New Member

Hi all,
    I've got MCP and CCNA certs and also have a degree, but i'm finding it really hard to get a job. I'm sure my CV is alright as i get calls from employers, but nothing turns fruitful. I've also got 2 years experience but back in India. I got a job recently as a 1st line support for an ISP called plusnet. the role is more or less to deal with home based customers queries( like connectivity and stuff). i just wanted to ask all if anyone can tel whether this position can be helpful to get further opportuinities in networking or is it useless?
    any suggestions with be highly appreciated.

Thanks and regards,
    abhi

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Welcome :)

Most people start of in entry level positions like what you are doing after you get experience then you can progress.

Also be aware that having the CCNA could be hindering you as the CCNA is supposed to be for people who have experience on Cisco kit and when employers you are applying to see that you have it and no experience they are going to think you may have cheated to get it.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi,

Please be aware that holding a degree and various certs do not guarantee you a certain (or any) job. But as you're already working for an ISP in a helpdesk role, any experience gained will be useful.