Got an interview but dont think i want it..

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jamin100, Dec 2, 2009.

1. jamin100

jamin100 Byte Poster

ok, let me explain.

I'm a Network Admin for a school I was having a bad week a few weeks back and applied to about 3 different jobs online with my CV. I was just having one of those fed up days . . .

Didnt think anything else of them and thus continued normally in my role. Well yesterday i heard back from 2 of the agencies offering me interviews for 2 of the jobs i applied for.

The first is for a IT support enginner earning between 20k-25k this is a little less than what i'm on now but a little nearer to home. This interview is scheduled for Tuesday. Now this is where the problem lies, I dont think that given the slightest chance I was offered this job that I would take it. Its no more than what i earn now and way less holiday (i currently get about 9 weeks)

soooo, do i go just for the interview experiance knowing that if offered the job i probably wouldnt take it, or cancel the interview and let them re-arrange it for someone else?

WIP: 70-680
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I would just politely decline the interview.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. jamin100

jamin100 Byte Poster

the 2nd one i'm going for as it looks like a great opportunity

4. Alex399

Alex399 Byte Poster

Whats the other interview for ?
    position? salary? Big/small company?

What BM said just decline it if you don't want the interview,
    unless you want to go along to the interview to train yourself in the art of "interviews" and see how much you can impress them! :p

Acutally don't do that, I'm just being stupid :)

WIP: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST