Got a job in IT and need advice for a project please

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by han.net, Dec 13, 2009.

1. han.net

han.net Nibble Poster

Hi there

I got a my first job in IT in a company hosts servers for other companies in our facilities .
    I have the CCNA and A+ and got some work experience as an IT Technician.
    I started the Job 6 days a go and noe I am required to do a project on Windows Server 2008 and to migrate from 2003 to 2008 .
    I have no knowledge at all about Microsoft servers and thats why I am bit panic.

Would any body advise me on what to do and how to do it ?
    Do I need a very good knowledge about 2003 to do this ?
    Should I consider 2008 server course ?

I would really apprecite your help and advice .

Hani

Last edited: Dec 13, 2009
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Speak to your boss about it. Is there a reason why he\she thinks you should be able to run Server 2003 to server 2008 migration?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Check on technet Microsofts web site for white papers and how to. You'd also find petri online helpful. Best wishes and lets know how you get on:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  4. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster

I agree with Sparky.

Strange how your boss should think your capable of doing it when you are not by your own admission. It could just be he wants you to find out for your own learnings sake, if so, google your ass off.

Certifications: MCITP:VA, MCITP:EA, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP:EST7, MCITP:SA, PRINCE2, ITILv3
  5. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

Agreed.

A quick question, what do you mean by "some work experience as an IT Technician"?