Good Morning

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Liam8, Apr 8, 2010.

1. Liam8

Liam8 New Member

Hello and good morning,

I thought I'd stop by and introduce myself. I'm Liam and I'm new

I've been working in IT for the last 5 years doing temp contracts and agency work and as yet have no formal IT qualifications.

I might some enquiries with the Home Learning College and had a visit from one of their advisors, he was a nice chap and said that with my previous work experience I wouldn't have any trouble doing the MCSE.

He quoted £2649 for the full MCSE package and as I'm unemployed at the moment and have never done home learning before I'm a bit stuck.

Would anyone know of any bursaries available as the job centre were less than helpful. Also anyone with any experience of home learning or MCSE qualifications please get in touch

Many Thanks In Advance

:)

2. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

self study, don't bother paying someone to give you books.

look around this forum at how many would suggest this over paying a TP

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Do yourself a favour and buy the MS press books and start learning at your own pace. You can save yourself a lot of £££ as well as heart ache. You can also invest in a one of two reasonable computers from Ebay and install VMWare for virtualisation and get as much hands on practice.

Best wishes and welcome to CF:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  4. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Another vote for self study.

The recommended path is CompTIA A+, then the Network+ and then Microsoft's MCDST cert.

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  5. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

Welcome!

6. michael78

michael78 Terabyte Poster