getting ready to skill up - advice please

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by rockstar6181, May 16, 2010.

1. rockstar6181

rockstar6181 Byte Poster

Hi there,

I did some certications many years ago (A+, Network+ and MCSA 2003). I haven’t really added anything to it in the last 4 years or so.

I feel it’s time to really get serious about my career and want to really make a push at learning lots of new skills and make myself as employable as possible. I am currently 29.

I am currently working in a 2nd/3rd line support role for a client of about 6000 users. Been doing this nearly 4 years. I do project work when resourced within this role too. Prior to that I did IT support work in a call centre for 5 years. So all in all I have 9 years worth of IT experience under my belt along with A+, Network + and MCSA certifications.

I really enjoy the 2nd/3rd line desktop support role I currently do as it’s so varied and I enjoy interacting with the users. I also get to do some server based work/admin in my role mainly managing printer servers, WSUS update server etc.

I would like to one day work in a role where I do a bit of everything (server, desktop, comms etc) - I know this is becoming quite rare for some companies as they dedicated teams.

For time being though I would just like to concentrate on skilling up rather than trying to change jobs.
    I would like to obtain the following certifications over the next 18 months or so –

MCITP Server 2008 Admin
    MCITP messaging admin
    ITIL
    Citrix CCA
    Cisco CCNA
    Something with VMware
    Something with Office/share point

I would also like to do some study in other areas but maybe not do a certifcation in them - you know just to get some grounding on the systems/tech etc

Can anyone advise any other areas which I should maybe look at?

Any input is welcome.

Certifications: A/N+ MCSA 2003
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster