Getting IT job.....frustration!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Rondon, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Rondon

Rondon New Member

Hi Folks,

I've been looking for a job in IT for a year now since getting made redundant from IBM. I've applied for anything and anything relevant. I have 12 years experience at IBM (deskside support). I have a Msc Information technology, in the last few Months I have done 3 or of the 4 MCSA exams and the Comptia A+.

Does any one have any suggestions on what would be the most in demand certification in 2012? How you can get experience in technologies you have never worked with, good techsites...basically anything that will help would be much appreciated I've seen a lot of roles advertised looking for VMware, Citrix and linux based skills...is the the way to head?

Any ideas or suggestions on how I can get back in the game? I'm based in Glasgow.

Cheers

Ronnie.

Got MS70-270, 290, 291 and Comptia A+

WIP: CCNA and 70-263

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Unfortunately there are more and more people looking for roles and it's not going to get easier :(

2012 is definitely the year of the Cloud, more skills in Cloudy type technology is a must (VMware VCD, MS VMM etc). IT isn't the l33t industry it once was, there are more people getting certified these days which means more people applying for roles.

The only suggestion I really have at the moment is try and be adaptable, move for roles if that's what it takes (I have even moved country before to get a role, which worked out great for me as I met my wife whilst on that job), whilst you may have a family sometimes you have to do something extreme like working away from home during the week, especially if it means putting food on the table.

Good luck.