Getting into IT Sales/Consulting

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Danshand, Nov 30, 2009.

1. Danshand

Danshand Nibble Poster

Hello Folks,

I am hoping to move to London in summer of next year and would like to break into the sales/consulting/account managing area of IT. I have 6 years experience in IT technical roles, but no experience in sales or facing customers. I am a very confident person and believe I have strong business acumen.

Has anybody any advice into getting into this kind of role? It seems to be where the real money is, consulting and selling rather than being the 'techy'. I dont want to completely pull myself out of the technical side of things but would like to move into a customer facing role, as I believe my natural talents are being wasted at the moment.

Has anybode on here made this kind of move, and can anybody offer any advice?

Thanks,

Dan.

Certifications: Many.
    WIP: MCITP, ITIL
  2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

I don't have advice sorry but I think Craigie wants to do the same. One thing I do know is you are correct, wages are very good in that line of work. Good luck, Jim

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Personally I'd draw a distinction between sales and consulting. I'm quite happy doing the latter but not the former.