Gday!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by maccaman, Feb 19, 2009.

1. maccaman

maccaman Bit Poster

Hi all

I am an Australian expat who now lives in Edinburgh and I am looking to carve out a career out in IT.

I'm interested in getting some 1st line helpdesk work as I have NO experience but that is proving to be difficult. So in the meantime I am spending my spare time studying for my MCDST exams with the first being booked in for mid March. I am only using the Microsoft press book at the moment but I am thinking about getting more resources... cheap!

Hopefully some sort of certification can make up for the lack of experience...

I have a Bachelor of Multimedia Systems from back home but am not a creative soul, hence the drastic career shift.

I've known about this forum for a few weeks now and I registered recently. I think it is fantastic and the advice here is excellent.

If anyone has any advice on the best way to try and get my foot in the door somewhere that would be wonderful, but please bear in mind that while I have always had an interest, I have NO experience working in any kind of IT environment... :oops:

Thanks to the experts who have helped me so far, it really has been handy.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

We all had no experience at the beginnings of our IT careers. Yes, getting your first IT job *is* gonna be difficult... but yes, it is possible.

The MCDST will serve you well in helping to distinguish yourself above your competition, provided they are in the same no-experience boat you are in... and most will be. Additionally, you might consider the A+ and Network+, as both are also good entry-level certifications. However, that's about as far as you should pursue the certification path until you've gotten your first IT job and gotten some experience under your belt.