from zero to working in IT in one year?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by samjhudson, May 5, 2007.

1. samjhudson

samjhudson New Member

Hey people
    My names Sam and I'm a 23 year old admin assistant. Sorry for the cliche, but, like most of you, I've loved computers from a young age. been hopping from job to job since uni because nothing seems to keep me interested for long - theres only so much paper you can push around before getting bored.

I've got tons of personal experience with computers, have completed many builds and upgrades myself and have a special interest in performance 'tweaking' (overclocking), linux and have just started to learn Java.

I'm interested in breaking into the IT industry when I move to bristol in about a year, and was wondering what certs I could realistically expect to achieve by then (bear in mind I would work damn hard)

Now, I have no intention of purchasing any courses - I managed 2 A's at AS via home study so am sure I can get by without giving a company of questionable repute 5K. however, I'm confused as to where to start.

I first looked into the A+ and Network+, however the IT manager at work has told me that he wouldn't look at anyone without a MCSE. He said that a Network+ is "too basic". Does anyone know if this is the industry concensus?

Whew - know there's a lot there guys, but thanks in advance!

Sam

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

IMHO just one person's views is not enough! And the first question would be "Does every employee under that manager have a MCSE?" Because I would be surprised if that were true.