Freedom of Information Act

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by BDB2008, Aug 18, 2009.

1. BDB2008

BDB2008 Bit Poster

Hello All firstly why did I not find this place earlier, valued information from experienced industrial people alike, who actually know about there career.!

About me.

37 yrs young, 1 child 12 months old, made redundant 30th June 2009 trying very unsuccessfully to get back into employment, now looking at self training to gain qualifications.

In my 12 years in the industry I have been a cabling engineer progressed to a Desktop Support Engineer then onto being a field engineer and finally Network Consultant.

Can I get a job?? No!

Reason I believe is no formal qualifications, I did do my MCP self study in 2000 on NT but left it at that because at the time it was who you knew and what you knew.

Currently I am being asked “do you have an MCSE?” I reply with “no but I have 10+ years hands on experience "ahhh we need qualified MCSE engineers for marketing our company..........." so on and so forth.

I'm in a position where I have 10+ years experience installing, administering; managing networks of various sized but cannot get a job because I do not have any formal qualifications,!

So I’m back to looking at gaining accreditation to fulfil these employers tick boxes, and it’s difficult to say the least. Experience in the field does not compare with reading books, I’m concerned that the skills *shortcuts* I have learned will affect the training I need to undertake to pass the exams, or am I paranoid?

Colleague’s friends and family suggest I go self employed, but have you ever tried to be a salesman? Anyway that’s me, I am sure I will be spending plenty of time on the forums in all aspects and area’s.

Certifications: Life Experiance count?
    WIP: MCSA MCSDT MCSE CCNA
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Sorry, what's the relevance of the freedom of information act?

:blink