Foot in the door! Need some advice.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Penitum-M, Feb 5, 2011.

1. Penitum-M

Penitum-M New Member

Hi, I currently want to change my career, I am a mechanic at the moment, but I've been interested in computers since I was young and without tooting ones horn as it were, I'm very knowledgeable (I only say this as its not much use to me if I get replies as if i'm inexperienced with computers.

I'm 23 and would like some help in regards to how I would go about getting a job in IT. I'm interested in networking, problem solving, hardware, anything but coding. I just need the best way to get my foot in the door as it were.

I've got an interview with Zenos to do their 5 month course on Wednesday, however their funding is very limited so I'm unsure on my chances of being accepted. Is Zenos a good path to take?

I have a few questions about simply booking tests and not studying on a course but learning yourself. Can you book a test on certain days of each week or are they in monthly set days?

Obviously there are ways in which I can get some certifications by paying a lot of money to private companies, however this really is a last resort and I would rather not do this if possible.

Any feedback much appreciated

Scott

2. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

Hi Scott

I’m not sure about Zenos, I’d recommend doing some research on them first (there seems to be more scams than legit training schemes out there).

Most of us have gone down the (cheaper) self study method here’s how I do it.

Buy a book from Amazon (always buy new, 2nd hand are sometimes out of date and missing the CDs), I recommend Microsoft Press Books Self Study (they are named after exam code) for Microsoft Exams and Mike Myers for Comptia Exams.
    Read though the books, they will contain practical lessons for you to try out.

If you can afford it get the CBT nuggets videos www.cbtnuggets.com . They are like sitting in a classroom and are really well put together.