First line it support with a little 2nd line support

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Gmail trooperman, May 3, 2013.

1. Gmail trooperman

Gmail trooperman New Member

Hi,

I have 5 years IT experience working as a IT support with a dual role as a production technician although most of my time was spent in the it department. There is only two of us so I deal with lots of issues.

I am studying a online degree with ou - it and computering

I have a few Certs.

Latest is network+, server 2008 Active Directory, and Server 2008 infastructure. I also dealt with the internal phone system and looked after the mobile phones.

I also do the company PAT testing

In 8 years, I have only been late 4 times

I have only had 4 days sick in 8 years.

Yet I only get paid £15750 42 hours a week, 3 hours a week more than the it manager

I'm 35 , can I find work better than this?

2. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

Going on what you've said YES. Your current role sounds a lot like my first IT role although in my case I was doing 3 DAYS a week extra.

I'm now working for an outsourced IT provider now support 130 odd clients, both servers and desktops, 1st, 2nd and 3rd line and I've not got beyond the old MCDST as far as certification is concerned.

Update your CV and start applying!

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCDST, ACA – Mac Integration 10.10
  3. Gmail trooperman

I found out today that because I work partly in production department, and its production's responsibility to look after the maintenance of the building. The MD said I have to shampoo and clean the carpet. Monthly, and then get told actually " whilst you at it you can do the boardroom".