Fireworks v Photoshop

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by philbenson, Dec 20, 2005.

1. philbenson

philbenson Byte Poster

Does anyone out there have any preferences between Macromedia Fireworks and Photoshop for creating web graphics?

Both are very comprehensive packages and I dare so each one has its strengths and weaknesses in different areas. But I would be interested to hear some opinions from web designers out there.

Certifications: MCP, MCP+I, MCSE, MCSA, MCTS
    WIP: CCNA(?)
  2. michael78

michael78 Terabyte Poster

I'm no graphics expert but when I was doing web designing as part of my degree I found using Fireworks was excellent as it's specifically geared towards web graphics and was pretty easy to get to grips with and thats saying something from someone who is clueless about graphics.

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

I am no web expert either but I know a man who is :biggrin

He uses Fireworks and does the most incredible stuff with it!

I have used Photoshop and find it a real drag. Everything seems to make things too difficult and it is in no way easy to learn. I know it can produce fantastic results in the right hands but for a casual user it is a pain in the bum. Just my opinion btw.

I now only use Fireworks, it is superb and even I can produce nice looking imagery without too much hair pulling. It is very well integrated with Dreamweaver to, which can help a lot.

Therefore Fireworks gets my vote 8)

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  4. _omni_

_omni_ Megabyte Poster