failed job interview because of this one question

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by steve_p1981, Jun 1, 2011.

1. steve_p1981

steve_p1981 Byte Poster

Hi Guys,
    I had a job interview for my first "professional" IT role today. I had a test that was 15 mins long and I had 11 questions. These were based on Server 2k3 OS but i have no experience with this system so was a little stuck to start with. The question that caught me was this one.

The internet is down: fix it.

Here's what i done in no particular order.device manager, IPconfig and pinged the IP address that was given to me, pinged 127.0.0.1 all ok, checked that i was getting and sending data through the network option in control panel, repaired the connection just in case, found users and computers on active directory and also the policies section. Checked terminal services (didn't really know what i was looking for there if i'm honest). don't know why the browser wouldn't find google. Oh and i checked the services part of the adminstration tasks and couldn't see anything there. Any help would be great. I didn't have time to check firewall permissions as the alarm sounded. can anyone advise me?

Certifications: A+ 220-701 and 220-702
    WIP: none at current but poss 70-680 soon
  2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

The question is quite vague, is it about server 2003 hosting the connection not getting access, or client machines unable to, is it networked? or single machine?

I'd of left out things like AD, policies, and terminal services - cos that doesn't really have alot to do with the internet if it had been working

My first thing i would of checked would be the actual router itself in the server room, if it's on and lights indicating connections - move onto the switches, then onto the server etc