Failed 70-290

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by jec69, Nov 19, 2010.

1. jec69

jec69 Bit Poster

Failed with a score of 452, and I studied almost every night for six months! I used transcender and MS press for studying. Is there something else I should use for studying material ? I can't believe I scored that low. Oh well, if anybody could tell me what other books or materials I should use to study, it would be greatly appreciated.

Certifications: A+ Network+
    WIP: MCSE
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Those study tools should be OK. How much server admin experience do you have?

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. jec69

jec69 Bit Poster

Well i've been with my company for 4 years now, and we use servers with 2003 operating system. Ive done all the labs I could think of too. When I looked at my test report, it seemed I was weak on:

Manage and Maintain Users, Computers, and Groups
    Manage and Maintain Access to Resources

mid-level on:

Manage and Maintain a Server Environment

Manage and Implement Disaster Recovery

and strong on:

Manage and Maintain Physical and Logical Devices

It showed no percentage, just a graph.

4. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

Sorry to hear bro. I'm sure you're gonna nail it next time.

WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  5. BosonMichael

Yeah, Microsoft doesn't give percentages for each section. I would recommend that you focus on those weak areas. Try to remember questions that gave you the most uncertainty or difficulty, and research topics related to those questions. When you're more confident with those, turn your attention toward those mid-level areas.