Experience ????

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by hodge, Mar 31, 2007.

1. hodge

hodge Bit Poster

Hi all,

Just wanting to see if anyone else out there is in the same boat as me, and if anyone has any possible advice!?

I have been applying for entry level positions for a few months, and have had no luck so far. The thing is, almost all of the adverts state that they want 6 months to a year's worth of basic experience, but how are us newbies supposed to gain the experience needed if no-one is willing to take on newcomers without any!???

This is really frustrating!!

Does anyone know of any possible ways to overcome this???

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Certifications: CompTia A+
    WIP: MCDST
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

The only advise that I can give is to hang in there and don't give up.

1. Continue to apply for jobs in the newspapers/jobcentres.
    2. Try volunteering, there are various websites out there including:
    http://www.volunteering.org.uk/
    http://www.millenniumvolunteers.gov.uk/
    http://www.totaljobs.com/Jobseeking/Volunteer_f12.html

and that's just to start.

You could also try your local school's and college's to see if they are willing to take you on a couple of days a weeks to build up your experience.

To be honest, it took me a good few years before I got my break. Hang in there :)

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. mondos

mondos Kilobyte Poster