Exchange experience?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by guildhall, Jan 23, 2013.

1. guildhall

guildhall Bit Poster

Hi Guys,

just a quick question. I am new to the world of IT support. A lot of jobs adverts are asking for Exchange 2003/2008. I have been working for a year as 1st line support. What kind of experience are they asking for in exchange?

So far my only experience of exchange is to go in and add new mailboxes and link it to users in AD, adjust mailbox sizes, create shared mailboxes and distribution groups. I also know how to redirect emails to a specific mailbox. Are these the sort of experience that companies are asking for or is it something much more advanced?

Many thanks!

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

It will be dependant on the job role itself, one company may be looking for someone who does the day to day stuff, some will be looking for more.

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. Gav

Gav Kilobyte Poster

I think it very much depends on the role itself. We run large multi-tenant Exchange deployments, so our 1st/2nd line guys are required to know a bit of basic PowerShell (Get-Mailbox, Set-Mailbox etc).

If you're looking to work for a small, non-IT business, you'll probably find yourself doing basic tasks (such as adding/removing mailboxes), rather than dealing with complex issues as lot of small companies outsource the more complex Exchange stuff to 3rd party IT support companies.