Even established IT Professionals can suffer looking for work.

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by SimonD, Aug 15, 2016.

1. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

So a little back story for you, I spent 5 years working for my previous employer but was made redundant at the end of January this year, the payoff wasn't too bad and I took some time off (Feb and March).

In April I started what was supposed to be a 6 month contract, however 2 months later was released from that contract due to them placing the project on indefinite hold, to my advantage I did receive 30 Days pay as they broke the contract.

I then took a month off to study for my VCAP DCA exam (which I passed on the 4th of July) and have spent the last 6 weeks looking for work.

Interviews at my level have changed over the years, joining my company 5 years ago as a contractor I had a 30 minute call with the hiring manager and joined the company a week later as a new security contractor, 2 months in I was asked in to a meeting (expecting to be laid off) and asked to go perm, I did and had a great time there.

In the last couple of weeks I have had a number of deeply technical interviews (both visual and telephone based), these were panel based interviews with a minimum of 4 people asking various technical questions (at one interview for a Hedge Fund I was interviewed by 6 people at once).

I found my perfect role 10 days ago, was verbally asked if I would accept the role (which I did) but am still waiting for the actual offer letter and details to come through to me (they were finalised today, not an issue as this is a senior role and needed approval from the US for the hiring and package).