Epic Fail

Discussion in 'Active Directory Exams' started by Phoenix, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

Just thought I would make this public, I don't usually announce when I am taking exams, but usually give the results, and felt it would just as worthwhile to post details on my epic failure as it would my passes

So on Tuesday I finally caved and dropped the $125 on 70-297, the AD Design exam, booked it for the day after at 9.30 am

Read a bit of my exam cram, but couldn't really stay focused, and without my comp in full working order my VM capabilities are limited, so I barely studied, and even though I knew full well my real world experience would likely not help, I didn't realize just how much it would hamper me!

See, I design AD for a living, it's part of my job as a consultant, I do a good few a year, often on my own, and often pretty complex solutions

I failed the exam with a whopping 597, my lowest score ever, the first time I have got a lower score than 600, and only the second time I have ever failed a Microsoft exam
    I was pretty bummed out during the rest of wednesday, not quite sure how I managed to flunk so bad, I mean, I do this for a living right?

By the evening it finally started to dawn on me, for this exam I didn't do the following
    Study much
    Read a full detail book (such as a Sybex study guide, I usually supplement that with an exam cram, not the other way around)
    and the big one !! Did not use any practical study, no VM's, no Sims, nothing !!

There were a few other reasons that may of played into it, but I don't think they were deal breakers and I don't like to make too many excuses
    The format was new to me, (as far as I can remember) and it didn't allow me to utilize the masses of extra time I accumulate, most the exams I have sat are 4h long, and I am usually out in an hour, giving me 3 hours of backup if required