Entry Level Advice?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by knryan82, Jun 30, 2010.

1. knryan82

knryan82 New Member

Hey guys, I'm currently studying for my CompTIA A+ and looking to follow it up with Network+ by the end of the year after reading here not needing to renew your certification every 3 years, sure I can get them done as I'm eager, determined and frankly a little bit masochistic hehe. I'm looking to change my career direction and break into the world of IT. I'm looking for advice from you guys about landing an entry level position for a guy in my position.

Initially I am looking towards a first line support role. For the past few years I have worked as a bar manager and although good customer relations is a huge part of my job I am unsure whether it would be better for myself to maybe get a more similarly based customer service role to gain some experience of such an environment or, whether an employer will see my current experience as relevant to the role.

Also, would I just be wasting my time by applying for support role positions before gaining at minimum my A+ or would it be advisable to get a headstart and and apply for as much as I can for the moment? I have a Certificate in IT & Computing from Open Uni, although the course material served as no help to what I would be expected to do, it is at the least a recognised qualification (apparently lol :D).

Any help is much appreciated, thanks

WIP: CompTIA A+, Network+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Opinions vary, but I would see customer service skills as a positive for someone applying for an IT support job. It's not easy to keep your head when trying to diagnose computer problems when you've got an irate individual ranting at you across a desk, over the phone, or in an e-mail message.