Employment question (almost short of begging)

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by kai, Jun 17, 2010.

1. kai

kai Bit Poster

Hello,

I have finished my network+ coursework and im ready for the exam. The problem is, I did not know how expensive the exam was to take, so I actually cant afford to take it for a good while at the moment.

Im very desperate to leave my first proper full time job working in a deli for the past 2 years, so im considering of writing up a CV with no certs but detailing what im after and hope I strike it lucky. I wanted to pass it through on this forum so ill know if I have a chance at all.

I can build PCs, so I know my hardware and software apps. I know how to troubleshoot most hardware problems. My network+ course has taught me to subnetting, understand networks and how they work, and how to troubleshoot them but I have no hands on experience. I would want to explain that I am after any entry level IT job. I work extremely hard and somewhat of a workaholic.

I am desperate to start my IT career before im 25 that im willing to do whatever it takes. Once im on that ladder I know im set for life. I know how to work from the bottom and work my way up, so once i break through into an actual job I would be the happiest guy in the world having that opportunity.

A bit longer then what I planned this thread to be, but let me know what you think, and let me know if I have a chance having no certs but 100% dedication and enthusiasm.

Kai.

2. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

easily. I didnt, I still dont (if you exclude ITIL).

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  3. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

Dedication certainly counts and there is no reason for you not to start applying for IT job now. Keep studying, keep working and get applying! Some employers are still willing to take a chance on a complete novice so there is hope!