1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DSADD Problem (Multiple Objects)

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 Exams' started by Rover977, Mar 23, 2008.

1. Rover977

Rover977 Byte Poster

I am currently studying for 70-290 exam and have encountered a problem with DSADD USER and DSADD GROUP when trying to add multiple objects.

For example :-

C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1>dsadd user
    "cn=tst1,ou=marketing,dc=contoso,dc=com"
    "cn=tst2,ou=marketing,dc=contoso,dc=com"
    ^Z
    dsadd failed:`cn=tst2,ou=marketing,dc=contoso,dc=com' is an unknown parameter.

Similarly the same error occurs when I enter :-

dsadd user "cn=tst1,ou=marketing,dc=contoso,dc=com" "cn=tst2,ou=marketing,dc=contoso,dc=com"

It seems only one object can be added at a time, but in the Help and Support documentation says otherwise :-

"If you do not supply a target object at the command prompt, the target object is obtained from standard input (stdin). Stdin data can be accepted from the keyboard, a redirected file, or as piped output from another command. To mark the end of stdin data from the keyboard or in a redirected file, use the end-of-file character (CTRL+Z). "

"If a value that you supply contains spaces, use quotation marks around the text (for example, "CN=Mike Danseglio,CN=Users,DC=Microsoft,DC=Com"). "

"If you supply multiple values for a parameter, use spaces to separate the values (for example, a list of distinguished names). "

This is also what it says in the Microsoft 70-290 cert study guide.

Anybody encountered this problem and found the cause of it ? I've seen a couple of people on searching Google who have encountered the same problem but as yet have seen no explanation for it - only suggestions to do it another way.

Many thanks for any help.

Certifications: A+, Network+, Cisco CCNA
    WIP: Maths
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator