Dr. Frankenstein, I Presume...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tripwire45, Aug 15, 2003.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Ok, I've pretty much decided to build my own system (I say "pretty much" because I haven't run it past the wife yet). Problem is, I've never done anything like it before. I'm not so much worried about actually putting it together as going shopping for the components. I'd have to buy everything from scratch, including the box it all has to go in.

I have a general idea of what I want...Pentium 4 processor, SATA hard drive, at least one to two Gigs of RAM...the ability to upgrade. I'll probably use XP Pro as the host OS and run VMWare Workstation 4.0 on it to create a virtual network. I'd like to support about six virtual machines including workstations and servers for my lab work.

I'd prefer not to randomly search the web via google trying to cobble together bits and pieces so...where do I begin???

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. Nelix
    Honorary Member

Nelix Gigabyte Poster

OK, first chose your case, any ATX case will hold an ATX M/B, however take into account the number of drive bays you require and the size of power supply, also think about little things on the cases like USB and firewire ports on the front panel, Next, if the SATA (dont know much about these) are IDE drives then they will fit any M/B too.

After that if you are going for a true pentium, decide what speed processor you want then look for a mother board that supports your choice of pentium and that has onboard what you want (such as LAN, graphics maybe, SCSI, IrDA, Hell why not bluetooth or i have seen cases with built in support for wireless (dont know how this works)). At the same time make sure that the Ram speed is supported by the M/B.