Domain - Local security Database

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by beaumontdvd, Mar 3, 2010.

1. beaumontdvd

beaumontdvd Kilobyte Poster

Hi all, am I right in saying that in a workgroup each computer has its own local security database and in a domain the local security database isn't held on the DC for security? If not where is it held?

Also that you cannot logon to a domain locally? So when you login you will be logging in using domain credentials based on the active directory entries?

Also what happens if the domains down and AD is not installed would you be able to login to the dc?

Hope someone can explain in the simplest terms as I'm new to this domain environment :oops:

thanks,
    Dave

Certifications: 070-271, 070-272, (MCDST)Level 1,2,3 NVQ
    WIP: 070-270, A+, N+, S+,MCDST 7 Upgrade
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

In a workgroup environment each workstation is responsible for it's own security. The database is held by itself, yes. On a domain controller, the local security database is modified when dcpromo is run.

If you are talking about the domain controller, then yes. If you are talking about a client, there is a gpo to prevent a user logging on the workstation.

If AD is not installed, you have no domain. If you mean what happens if the DC is down, a message would be presented to the user explaining the domain controller cannot be contacted, or if the cached credentials are configured, it may log the user on although not provide access to resources which require authentication.

Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
    Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. beaumontdvd