Do I need experience to get certified ?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by doodlebug, Jan 4, 2006.

1. doodlebug

doodlebug Bit Poster

Hi All

Trying to decide which cert route to take, I currently work in sales so have no hands on IT experience. On the Microsoft website, it says that 1 - 2 years experience is required using the particualr application to get certified ie

"An MCSD for Microsoft .NET candidate should have two years of experience developing and maintaining solutions and applications"

WOuld the lack of experience prevent me from getting the cert ?

WIP: A+, CCNA
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

It would make it *very* difficult.

Reading about something is very different from actualy trying to do it. What you *could* do is to use a spare machine or two to set up a home lab so you can get hands-on experience.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. doodlebug

doodlebug Bit Poster

Thanks for the reply, I appreciate that it will much more difficult without the experience, but is the experience a pre-requisite for the cert ?

4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

How would you or they 'prove' or 'disprove' such experience?

Lack of experience won't stop you from starting such a course, but I think you will find the going very hard until you gain such experience.

It all depends on the exact cert you are after, and the way you intend to study for it. In some cases a college will give you plenty of hands-on as part of the course.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I'd say getting certified and having experience (of some sort) go hand in hand. Remember, what a certification does is "certify" that you are qualified to perform the tasks that are associated with the cert. Here's what Microsoft says an MCSD should be able to do: