DNS basics questions

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by adrian, Mar 10, 2009.

1. adrian

adrian Nibble Poster

lo, I am currently studying networking and having learned about domains and all that I have a few questions that may or may not make sence to someone who knows :P

As I understand it there are a bunch of DNS servers all over the place own by various companies. If I wish to have a domain name i must pay a resistrar company (who presumably own or have access to a DNS server) what is essentially a rental fee on the name that i choose (assuming the name isnt already taken).
    In a web address such www.example.me.com - the "www" is the hostname which is the DNS server, "me" is the domain that i rent from the resitrar and "example" would be a subdomain.

My first question:
    Is all that correct :P? im least sure about teh hostname bit because if it is true then who owns "www" there cant be some all powerful DNS server that hold all the www addresses that exist can there?
    Also if www is just a generic prefix for all domains then which bit of the address specifies the host server?

Next question:
    Say I set up my own DNS server and i start filling it up with domain to ip maps....what regulates it? I mean to say, what stops me adding a domain name that already exists on another DNS server?

Last question: (not sure how to phrase it)
    How does my or any computer know to look at a DNS server to find the address it needs? infact, how does a computer even know where to find the DNS servers in the first place?

cheers in advance for any answers

Certifications: A+ N+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster