DHCP Question

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Methodman85, Jul 22, 2008.

1. Methodman85

Methodman85 Byte Poster

Hello Everyone,

I need some help....again. Being a noob is rough.

I plan on running a split scope scenario for some DHCP redundancy.

My DC's are on different networks, 172.18.2.0, and 172.18.4.0.
    172.18.4.0 is the network using DHCP, the .2 network is all static and does not require DHCP.
    This might be a total noob question but can I add a .4 network scope to the DC on the .2 Network, and have it work fine? Is there anything else I would need to do?

Certifications: MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, CCNA, MCDST, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

How are the two networks connected? Are they on the same site? There must be a router in there somewhere and this will stop the DHCP broadcasts unless you can forward the requests onto the DHCP server.

How many hosts are currently in use on the .2 network just now?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Methodman85

Methodman85 Byte Poster

We have a switch sitting inbetween both networks with Bootp enabled.. will that allow IP requests from the .4 network to reach the DHCP server on the .2 network?

4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

It should do yes.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  5. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

:blinkSuperscope?

Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  6. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Not much point in a superscope, as the .2 network is all *static* :rolleyes:

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  7. Sparky

Yup, as said it should work.