Degree and Certification?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by jitesh_83, May 16, 2007.

1. jitesh_83

jitesh_83 New Member

Firstly hello to everyone!
    I've been browsing the forum for the last hour, which has left me more confused than when I started. Heres where am stuck:

I have a degree in Computer Science attaining a 1st in 2005. After graduation I took a job as a php/mysql developer but unfortunately everything has gone downhill ever since. I haven't gained many skills in my 20 months after finishing university and feel my skillset is kind of out-dated!

Having looked for jobs and been on a few interviews I feel I lack the technical skills needed to be where I want to be. I've decided I need to brush up and am thinking about doing the MCSD course with Computeach.

The cost is £3200 and they GUARANTEED a job after the course. Obviously I need to take that statement with a pinch of salt! But I feel I'd be more able, and confident, to get a job afterwards anyway.

Is it worth me taking the MCSD even though I have a degree?

The cost isn't a massive issue as I feel its an investment into myself which will hopefully pay off down the line.

People on here have had their ups and downs with Computeach but speaking to the person on the phone they don't seem too bad. Also what timescale would I be looking at? The sales rep said about 9-12 months, but since I have a IT background am hoping to finish within 6-8months.

Thanks for all the help!

2. GW

GW Byte Poster

Let's put it this way, I have a Masters degree in Information Security and I just started a school a bit ver a month ago for my MCSE.

Having a degree doesn't seem t be worth too much these days unless you have industry certifications to back it up. Wish it wasn't so since my job barely pays enough to cver my bills and my student loans.

GW

Certifications: MCP x4, CompTia x3
    WIP: Cisco CCNA
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award