Debian Installation

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by zimbo, Mar 17, 2006.

1. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

I thought i would just share my experience with the rest of CF -and alot of trips advice (hope he doesnt mind and thanks again trip!).

This isnt a easy distro to install and vmware doesnt support it officially but you can still install it. First of all you need vmware 5.5 otherwise you will run into all sorts of problems with mouse and GUI's not loading.

I found a good site for the total newbie (thats me!!) for installing debian: www.free-bees.co.uk/articles/installingsarge/

oh and make sure you choose Worksatation otherwise you will have a few more problems when no GUI loads! :twisted:

Cheers trip! :onthePC

EDIT: i forgot the proof! :p
    NB the link at the bottom! 8)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Congratulations. Way to go, my man! :biggrin Glad you got it go go. Now it's time to get to work. :wink:

http://www.linux-tutorial.info/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=2150

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Thanks trip! Now thats a link you could have posted earlier... you starting to be a bad influence! all i can think of is debian... samba... open source.. IPCOP... and im trying to get my MCSA here! :twisted: LOL well its getting late here (4am) so im out of here for the night... need to get cracking on 290 again and play with debian later! BTW i was given a book called Linux Quick Fix Notebook from work.. looks like a gem cause its written for nymphos like me! anyone use it?

Next project i think i want to do if create a debian DHCP server to use for my MS domain... thats possible right or am i talking star wars? - i did it with IPCOP so i see why not with debian? :rolleyes:

Thanks for the link trip!

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster